good morning

In the morning when thou risest unwillingly, let this thought be present- I am rising to the work of a human being. Why then am I dissatisfied if I am going to do the things for which I exist and for which I was brought into the world? Or have I been made for this, to lie in the bed-clothes and keep myself warm?- But this is more pleasant.- Dost thou exist then to take thy pleasure, and not at all for action or exertion? Dost thou not see the little plants, the little birds, the ants, the spiders, the bees working together to put in order their several parts of the universe? And art thou unwilling to do the work of a human being, and dost thou not make haste to do that which is according to thy nature?
Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

Hey! I went a whole week in my new effort to  be more stoical. Buffing up on the classic texts and giving a go for the life of disciplined reason. Moderately successful! It fell apart a little near the end there but the overall big picture view could be a lot worse. Pretty awesome!

both to many others and to thyself it is plain that thou art far from philosophy.

No benchmarks for stoicism.

(Stoics don’t need nice new, modern translations shipped over from Amazon, right? Those somewhat dusty out-of-copyright free-online translations are just more stoical even if they’re a bit odd and sometimes confusing, I would think.  Maybe I’m supposed to be going to the library…. )

and from [Rusticus]I learned not to be led astray to sophistic emulation, nor to writing on speculative matters, nor to delivering little hortatory orations, nor to showing myself off as a man who practises much discipline, or does benevolent acts in order to make a display; and to abstain from rhetoric, and poetry

 

Tagged with: ,
Posted in my life, philosophy

Leave a Reply

